Fival Goes South, to Honduras

May 4, 2009 at 10:53 pm Leave a comment

Almost all of the houses down here are pretty well opened/ventilates to the outside. For one, it is necessary because of the heat. The walls don’t quite meet the roofs, so there’s about 5 to 6 inches of open space. In addition, the windows and doors are almost always open, which allows anyone or anything to pass through with ease (street children, for example). Where am I going with this? One morning the past week, I reached into my ditry laundry bag only to find that my clothes where moving. Upon close inspection, I realized that a mouse had taken up residence in my dirty laundry. Great, I thought. I calmly took my bag outside to turn in upside down and beat the hell out of it, until the smart employee, Tonya, told me to give the bag to her. The valiant Tonya reached in the bag, fished out the mouse, and successfully got rid of it. Muchas gracias, tan amable! I said to her as she handed me back the bag. I proceeded to reach into my bag again for the piece of clothing I had wanted before, and to my surprise saw mouse #2 in my bag. A friggin family was living in my clothes! This time, I threw my bag straight into the air and had never run so fast in my life. Tonya was laughing so hard she was crying and I was crying so hard I was laughing. Loyally, she went in again for mouse #2. Then she teased me that there was in fact a third mouse in the bag, which I did not find funny. Why are mice so terrtifying? Of course, my host mom found out about the ordeal and called me a coward. Who knows, maybe these mice have weird Honduras diseases? Moral of the story, check your stuff for creepy crawlies at all times.

One of my good friends down here also had an epic silent battle against a big black hairy spider at 1 in the morning last week. It involved a broom and a shoe and lasted about an hour. However, a corpse was not produced so she couldn’t sleep anyways. Nonetheless, it was hilarious hearing her recount her trials and tribulations in Spanish the next day.

My friends and I also captured a tarantula and placed him in a 5 gallon purified water container. Then someone decided to let him free because he looked unhappy. We let him go, and then got the chills to see how fast he moved.

Then there was the scorpion that was about 6 inches for my face. I put my face close the front gate of my friend’s house to say hi, then saw something move in the shadows. Yes it was a scorpion. Fortunately, they aren’t poisonous here, but apparently their bite hurts.

And then there are the biting fish. This Friday, our boss let us have the day off. We had worked hard all week making water storage tanks for 3 families in the surrounding aldeas. We had to dig out the foundations, do makeshift compaction of the soil, tie rebar, screen sand and gravel, mix mortar, and build the whole thing. The concept is easy but the physical labor was pretty tough. Nonetheless, it was really satisfying. I digress. . . back to the day off. So all of us, including our teachers and out boss had the pleasure of going to a private swimming hole downstream of Pespire. It was gorgeous! The water was cool and refreshing and deep. There was also an abundance of rocks to jump off of (the reason why my back hurts today, but it was worth it). It was truly rejuvenating after week number 9 of training. We felt like little kids again and were all in the water for 5 hours. There were little coves carved out of the water where on could perfectly fit their rear into, like a little seat. It was then I discovered the annoyance of the biting fish. They are like tiny minnows and attack your legs and feet. It doesn’t really hurt; it’s just an unexpected pinch. We all had our lame attempts of trying to catch them, including watermelon bait and empty coke bottles, but to no avail. The only fishing method down here in use is nets. Sometimes they use pellet guns, which is something I would like to try out.

And then there were the toads when the rains came. Apparently, every May 3rd, plus or minus a day, the rainy season starts, or invierno, which literally means winter. I called BS when my mom said the day was that predictable, but she was right. Saturday, I took a trip to the capital with my family to see some sites and get away. I got to see the sacred image of “La Virgen de Suyapa”. The local lore goes that a local farmer was returning home to Suyapa and decided to rest for the night. He tried to sleep, but something kept poking him in the back. He tried to remove it several times, and then discovered it was a 6cm wooden statue of the Virgin Mary. Apparently, the statue cured many people of their illnesses and performed miracles, so a modest church was built for the relic. She is now the patron saint of Honduras and I think of all of Latin America. So, about the rains. It began to pour while we were at the church, a lastima because my host parents had to ride the whole way back to Pespire the back of a truck. I though the rain wasn’t going to reach Pespire, but sure enough, when we arrived, it was pouring! Oh happy day! It wasn’t 100 degrees! And then I saw that the streets were inundated with frogs and toads (I still don’t know the difference between the two). I thought we were living through a revelations chapter of the bible. And Hondurans HATE frogs. I don’t know why. I think they are cute. People were screaming, throwing rocks at them. At one point, the bolos (local drunks) were trying to punt them, but kept missing because they were so drunk.

So those are my animal stories. Pretty great huh?

Now for something not related, but exciting, my site assignment for 2 years. . .SANTA ROSA DE COPAN!! A cool mountain town, with coffee and cigars galore! I can’t wait. I now have to do my homework .  . .

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

3 Weeks Left! Only 3 pics, my internet is slow

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

